Malam Adamu and Prof Bappa

In a bid towards increasing the number of quality teachers in the country, the federal government has approved the establishment and immediate take-off of six new Federal Colleges of Education in each of the geo-political zones in the country.

This was disclosed by the Public Relations Officer of National Commission for Colleges of Education (NCCE), Mr Ameh Isaac, who stated that the newly approved institutions would be situated in Bauchi, Benue, Eboyi, Osun, Sokoto, and Edo states, which had no Federal  Colleges of Education.

Mr Ameh also informed that details on the take-off of the institutions would be made known through the committee set up by the Federal Ministry of Education to be chaired by the Permanent Secretary, Federal Ministry of Education.

In his words of appreciation, the Executive Secretary, NCCE, Bappa-Aliyu Muhammadu, commended the federal government for establishing additional Federal Colleges of Education in all the six geo-political zones in the by country.

He said that the newly approved Colleges would not only create more job opportunities for Nigerians, but also improve standard of education and increase the number of quality teachers in the country.

He also appealed to the host communities, where the institutions would be sited to give maximum support and cooperation that  would aid the smooth take-off of the institutions.