President Muhammed Buhari

The Federal Executive Council has, last week, approved the establishment of 20 new private universities in Nigeria, bringing their total to 99 and the total number of universities in Nigeria to 193.

The Honorable Minister of Education, Mal. Adamu Adamu made this known at the State House after the weekly meeting of the Council, chaired by President Muhammadu Buhari, GCFR.

The list of the newly approved Universities and their locations are as follows:

1.         Mudiame University, Irrua, Edo State

2.         Claretian University, Nekede, Imo State

3.         Ave-Maria University, Piyanko, Nasarawa State

4.         Topfaith University, Mkpatak, Akwa Ibom State

5.         Maranatha University, Mgbidi, Imo State

6.         Al-Istqama University, Sumaila, Kano State

7.         Havilla University, Nde-Ikom, Cross River State

8.         Karl Kumm University, Vom, Plateau State

9.         Nok University, Kachia, Kaduna State

10.       Thomas Adewumi University, Oko Irese, Kwara State

11.       Ahman Pategi University, Patigi, Kwara State

12.       Anan University, Kwall, Plateau State

13.       Capital City University, Kano, Kano State

14.       Edusoko University, Bida, Niger State

15.       James Hope University, Agbor, Delta State

16.       Khadija University, Majia, Jigawa State

17.       Maryam Abacha American University Of Nigeria, Kano, Kano State

18.       Mewar International University Nigeria, Masaka, Nasarawa State

19.       Philomath University, Kuje, Abuja

20.       University Of Offa, Offa, Kwara State.

The Minister of Education said the approved universities would receive their provisional licenses from the National Universities Commission (NUC), which they would use for the next three years while monitoring and evaluation would go on.