Director’s Profile

Mr Mairafi Director ES Office
Director's Proflie

John Mairafi Ahmadu holds a Bachelor of Arts (Honours) degree in Public Administration obtained from the Ahmadu Bello University, Zaria in 1991. He joined the services of the National Universities Commission (NUC), as Personnel Officer II in September 1993, and served meritoriously in several Divisions and Units, rising through the ranks to the position of Deputy Director in January, 2014.

Among others, he worked in the Office of the Director, Personnel Management (DPM); Personnel Division (now Establishment and Staff Matters); Committee Division (now Corporate Services); Staff Training and Development; Administrative Secretary of the Nigerian Universities Network (NUNet) Project; as well as SERVICOM Unit. He was also, upon request, released on secondment to the mainstream Civil Service, during which period he worked in the Office of the Permanent Secretary (Ministry of Solid Minerals – September 2002 to December 2003), National Poverty Eradication Programme (January 2003 to April 2005) and Ministry of Police Affairs (May to August 2005). He has similarly represented the NUC in many Adhoc Committees.

He has, during the period of service, received extensive specialised training (both locally and outside the Country) in Civil Service Efficiency and Effectiveness; Human Resource Management; Leadership Enhancement and Capacity Building; Management of Higher Education Institutions as well as Public Service Reforms.

He was the pioneer National Universities Commission participant in the Executive Intelligence Management Course (EIMC) 9 at the National Institute for Security Studies (NISS) in 2016, and is a Fellow of the Security Institute (fsi).

Mr. John Mairafi Ahmadu was appointed Director by the NUC Board in March 2021, and deployed as Director, Executive Secretary’s Office (DESO) effective 1st July 2021.

He is married with children.

Mandate & Functions

Directorate’s Divisions

Legal Division
Division is headed by Barr. Pascal Eruaga (Deputy Director)


  1. Solicitors Unit
  2. Litigation/Insurance Unit
  3. Legal Research Unit
SERVICOM & Anti Corruption Division
Head of Division is Mr. Musa Iliyasu (Deputy Director)


  1. SERVICOM Unit
  2. sensitisation and Advocacy Unit
  3. Investigations and Reporting Unit
Internal Audit Division
Division is Headed by Mr. Adamu Mohammed (Deputy Director)


  1. Inspection and Investigation Unit
  2. Pre-payment Audit Unit
Procurement Division
Division is Headed by Mr. Jubril Momoh (Deputy Director)


  1. Recurrent Procurement Unit
  2. Capital Procurement Unit
Corporate Services Division
Division is Headed by Mr. Adewale Bakare (Deputy Director)


  1. Executive Secretary’s Immediate Office Unit
  2. Board Secretariat Unit
  3. Management Secretariat Unit
Physical Planning & Development Division
Division is Headed by Mr. Bamidele Omojola (Deputy Director)


  1. Infrastructure Development & Maintenance Unit
  2. Campus Planning & Geographic and Information Systems (GIS)Unit
Lagos Office

Division is Headed by Adetutu Ogun (Deputy Director)


Special Duties

Division is Headed by Ms. Ulona Inyama (Ag.)